WWW Wednesdays #3: January 11, 2017


img_1384-0

Hello everyone! WWW Wednesday is a book meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On a World of Words and you just answer three questions and leave your links down below!

www-3-ws www-what-are-you-currently-reading

 

 

 

Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt is one of my recent reads through NetGalley and even though I haven’t quite started it yet (been kind of busy these last few days), I’m still interested in checking it out especially since it’s been a while since I had read a historical romance novel!

www-what-did-you-recently-finish-reading

 

 

I just finished Alice by Christina Henry and I was quite surprised that I ended up loving it!  I just loved the dark and twisted take it did on “Alice in Wonderland” and this is easily the darkest and grimmest version of the tale I had checked out yet!  A bit of a warning for anyone who wants to read this book: this book has strong rape scenes and violence and I was disgusted with the rape scenes, even though I still ended up loving this book.

www-what-do-you-think-youll-read-next

read-next

Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers and Simon vs the Homo Sapiens by Becky Albertalli are two books that are still on my TBR list and I really want to read those two books as soon as possible!  Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas was the winner for my TBR book of the month for January and I’m really excited to check that book out!

 

Signature

29 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #3: January 11, 2017”

  1. Ah I have Alice on my shelf and I have the second book in the series. I should probably read them at some point! I’m gearing myself up for it because I know there is tough subject matter in there but I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it!

  2. I’ve been thinking of reading Simon for ages and never gotten down to it. I hope you enjoy it! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  3. I’ve been looking for good Alice In Wonderland retellings, so I’ll keep this one in mind! And I hope you will enjoy Simon when you get to it. Happy reading!

  4. My GoodReads friends have such mixed opinions on Alice that I haven’t quite brought myself to pick it up yet (the rape scenes have a lot to do with it), which is a shame because really all I want in life is more good AiW adaptations.

    I hope you enjoy Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda! That’s another one I haven’t got around to yet.

    1. Thanks! I’ve heard that Splintered which is another retelling of Alice in Wonderland might be a bit better in terms of content, but I haven’t read that book yet so I’m not sure about it.

  5. I know but haven’t read Alice in Wonderland and Alice looks interesting. I’ll check it out and thanks for the warning. 🙂

    Happy Reading! 🙂

  6. I’ve not heard of Alice before but I can never resist re-tellings of the Alice in Wonderland story so I will keep an eye out for this. I’ve got Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda on my TBR too and it sounds like a good read. I hope you get to it this week and that you enjoy it. Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

