Top Ten Tuesday #:7 Top 10 Fairy Tale Retellings I Want to Read and I’ve Read


Blog 8 Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

 

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

 

So today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is top 10 Fairy Tale Retellings I need to read and I’ve read!

Fairy Tale Retellings I’ve Read:

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer (Cinderella)

I absolutely adored this retelling of the classic “Cinderella” story and I think that Cinder was a fantastic main character for this story!  I definitely can’t wait to check out the rest of the “Lunar Chronicles” series!

2. The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale (The Goose Girl)

I remembered reading this version years ago and I really enjoyed it, especially since they expanded on the “Goose Girl” story and made the main character into a much stronger character!

3.  Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon Hale (Rapunzel)

This was a fantastic retelling of the classic “Rapunzel” character where Rapunzel actually uses here own hair to fight off her enemies, which I found to be really enjoyable!

4. Calamity Jack by Shannon Hale (Jack and the Beanstalk)

The sequel to “Rapunzel’s Revenge,” this is actually a retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk and Jack is such an interesting character in this version and I loved his growing relationship with Rapunzel!

5. East by Edith Pattou (East of the Sun West of the Moon)

I really enjoyed this more epic retelling of “East of the Sun West of the Moon” as the characters were expanded even further and I loved hearing the thoughts of both the girl and the white bear!

Fairy Tale Retellings I Need to Read:

6.  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (Beauty and the Beast)

After reading “The Assassin’s Blade,” I was so intrigued by Sarah J. Maas’ work that I wanted to try out more of her books and this book seems like an interesting take on “Beauty and the Beast!”

7. Splintered by A.G. Howard (Alice in Wonderland)

I’ve never realized that this book was a retelling of “Alice in Wonderland” and after hearing so much praise for this book, I just have to check it out!

8.  The Child Thief by Brom (Peter Pan)

This is supposedly a retelling of “Peter Pan” and after hearing so many good reviews about this book, I’ve decided to give this book a try!

9. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (Little Red Riding Hood)

After reading “Cinder,” I got so hooked that I really wanted to read the rest of the “Lunar Chronicles” series and I’ve heard that this book was as interesting as the first book!

10. Cress by Marissa Meyer (Rapunzel)

Another book that is apart of the “Lunar Chronicles” series that I really wanted to check out and since “Rapunzel” was a pretty interesting fairy tale to me, I want to see how Marissa Meyer handles a retelling of Rapunzel!

 

So, what fairy tale retellings have you read or you would like to read? Please feel free to comment!

 

Posted on Tuesday, August 4, 2015.

 

Signature

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #:7 Top 10 Fairy Tale Retellings I Want to Read and I’ve Read”

  1. YAY for The Lunar Chronicles!!! I want to read them SO badly! I do have “Cinder” (it’s on my list, too). I haven’t read it yet. but I will, for sure, and then the rest will follow!

    Another book I REALLY want to read is “A Court of Thorns and Roses”! It’s on my list, as well.

    I didn’t realize that “Splintered” was a retelling of Alice In Wonderland, but I’ve been wanting to read that one, as well, since I’ve heard so much about it!

    The other books you have on your list are not familiar to me, but I will definitely check them out — they look GREAT!!

    Thanks for sharing, and Happy Reading!! : )

  2. Hopefully I get to read a novel by Sarah J. Maas too. Many reviewers praise all of her works, but I know a few bloggers criticise – particularly Throne of Glass – too.

    I love your list, a big fan of the Lunar Chronicles so hopefully you get to read Scarlet soon. Though, just so you get that amazing experience. Just don’t expect so much of Cinder and Kai in the novel. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my TTT and sorry about the late reply. But I hope you have a happy reading day!

    Kristy.

Leave a Reply

